Marriage Equality, Social Explosion, and a Fireworks Show

Good morning The Geekdom. Sorry that I’ve been so late to the party, but since I am I’ve decided to wrap up three important current events in one post. So, please, bear with me.

Topic 1: Marriage

On 29 May 2015, the Supreme Court dictated that the forbiddance of homosexual marriage was unlawful and unjust, and officially declared any marriage or knot-tying between any two persons valid in all 50 states. I deem that a step forward in today’s economy (and I understand that not all of you will agree with me). But, nonetheless, if the USA is supposed to be the “land of the free and the home of the brave” as stated in our national anthem, then we have to honor what that says, even if it means sacrificing certain opinions to guarantee the freedom we seek.

After all, freedom doesn’t come free. 🙂

I understand as well that I am surrounded by many Christian believers who are disgusted by this act of justice, who are also saying that it is not “true love”. In that case I must argue the opposite. Homosexuals, Bis, Pans, and asexuals cannot control for whom they have feelings, and there is scientific data and evidentiary support backing it up. So, to reply to their disgust: It is not your life so why does it matter to you? Just let people be happy.

Topic 2: Social Networking

Upon the revelation of marriage equality being legal, the social network’s bandwidth nearly exploded as hundreds of thousands–straights and gays alike–celebrated their victory in public. It seems to be the start of a revolution.

In lieu to Facebook and other networks being bombarded by the lovers, another riot has broken out over the social media nationwide. The Confederate Flag, which is the symbol of Southern pride and hospitality, is deemed to be racist because of the Charleston “massacre” earlier this year. Granted the event was tragic, but no grudges were held against the man who killed the nine churchgoers. Nor did the meaning behind the Confederate Battle flag change because of it.

Many folks from the darker skintone don’t see that the people who have stimulating conversations with them and respect the “rebel” flag are not racists or trying to make them feel appreciated because they are second class. Like every flag this one has a history and is a symbol that is often misinterpreted by people of society. Me, personally, I never saw it as racist. I never thought race was a social separator until I discovered racist children and adults bullying those of the darker skin.

Due to the offense people have taken to this symbol of heritage, many major stores are planning or have already taken action. They’re removing it from all large-scale outlets. Though, they don’t realize, the more you forbid something, the more it is desired. You can’t force a nation to do anything if you show no respect for opinions.

So, to wrap this up, I don’t understand why people refuse to see that, despite people who are racist are flying this flag, so are people who think that racism is crap. I mean, I have dark-skinned family members who fly that flag.

Topic 3: 4th of July

Strangely I am transitioning into the American national holiday known for fireworks and beer. Why? Two reasons:

  1. 4th of July is like an early birthday celebration for me. One that I don’t have to plan.
  2. It’s the easiest present for my Aunt, who was born on July 4th.

But, I realized that this national celebration relates with the previous topic: pride in my nation. Because, if the Confederate Flag was to be illegal (and it is a sign of celebration of upbringing (that isn’t necessarily racist)) then shouldn’t having any pride in this country be considered illegal? It’s just a question.

Anyway, I should sign off for now until I find a new topic to post about. If this sparks up a debate, please be respectful of those you are arguing with. Thank you.

Namaste.

~Ocie

Leave a Reply

