Sexuality: An Exhausted Topic to Continue

Hello all my fellow people, followers, and outcasts! A warning to all who continue: This post has been researched, understood, interviewed, and discussed beforehand by my own power. If you choose to proceed, I mean to demean no person and am trying to make a point. Commenting of your point of view and arguments is accepted and expected from any and all who read.

Without further ado, my post.

Today, I’m going to discuss a topic that has been on my mind for a while now: sexuality.

I already know the dangers, politically and socially, that come as a package deal with this topic, and I still choose to continue on. Firstly, to state my opinion, I think that the idea of sexual racism has been overextended and is far beyond its “necessity” of argumentation. It’s not a debate, it’s fact, that people have different chemical balances within the brain that are irreversible and cause them to behave differently than others; but that doesn’t mean that these people are inhuman, of wrong decision, or (from certain religious perspectives) committing an open sin.

That kind of closed-minded lens is exactly the reason why many people I know feel uncomfortable to admit their sexuality or even try to admit they believe they could be the wrong gender. What world or nation are we if we simply single out what is unappealing to us individually?

We cannot blame one individual for not appealing to our tastes and beliefs because we are not that person. Each of us is a unique and beautiful person on our own in this mine field called Life. And it is not pleasant at all to constantly feel like you’re on trial for something you cannot help. However, just because we don’t like one thing, or we are not “wired” the way that the other person is, does not give us the right–as a public–to bash them or turn it into a high-intensity “debate” that brings nothing but hostility, stupidity, and a wedge of segregation into play.

I agree with the pop singer Jessie J and her outlook on this topic.

I want young people to know that they can belong – whatever your culture, your religion, your sexuality – that you can live life how you want to live it and feel comfortable how you are. ~Jessie J

I’ll admit straight out that I am no longer Christian like my family. I am not atheist, though. And even when I was a Christian, I saw the arguments over this topic, for lack of a better terminology, stupid and downright idiotic to continue. That, my friends, was almost 6 years ago, when I discovered that one of the kids older than me was homosexual, and that one of my ex-boyfriend’s parents was a lesbian. I was cool with it, because it wasn’t my place to judge how they lived their lives.

Later on, I learned about the chemical “imbalances” that caused the different kinds of sexuality, and accepted that I couldn’t change it and embraced the many friends that I later discovered were either homosexual or some other kind of sexuality that I didn’t completely understand. But these arguments? They have got to stop. It is absolutely boorish, short-sighted, and judgmental to just say that just because someone isn’t heterosexual automatically makes them a human being who has made wrong choices and refuses to follow the path that Life meant to create.

As far as I see it, Life is simply a series of obstacles and obstructions that are meant to cause us to look into ourselves and question what the world decides to tell us is right and wrong, acceptable and unacceptable. It makes truly no sense that people are still trying to make an argument about Gay Rights or ban Homosexuality and others of the such because it’s something that can’t be changed or eliminated.

It may not be “normal” but it is very much “human” and should just be dropped as a topic for arguing.

So, to prove that I researched both sides of this case, I’ll elaborate on the Pro-Hetero arguments that I personally believe are not able to be argued about.

1. Homosexuality goes against religion, as said by Leviticus 20:13.

Okay. So that’s what the Bible says. But I’ve heard of the Bible being comparable to the Constitution of the United States, but in reference to Christian followers. That book is too old for Christians to try to date, and it has been translated individually so many times that it is nearly impossible to know the true meaning. So, allow me to pull out my own counterargument: the necessary-and-proper clause.

This particular clause was assigned to the Constitution of the United States, stating that if the country saw it “necessary and proper” to apply an action that was not explicitly stated in the Constitution, that the government would be allowed to carry out said action. The Bible, in my opinion, should be no different. Also, we live in a very diverse society and culture in the U.S. and should embrace the statement that was made by the Founding (Christian) Fathers about “all men were created equal”.

2. Homosexuality is a choice and an open sin towards the Lord Almighty.

I cannot emphasize this enough: A PERSON’S SEXUALITY IS NOT THEIR CHOICE! It has been scientifically proven, and yet old-fashioned “bumpkins” with overly-conservative mindsets refuse to even look at collected data and test results that physically show that any sort of sexuality is not a choice. Like I’ve said before, you can’t blame someone for something that displeases you. Likewise, a person should not be judged by something they cannot willingly control.

3. Homosexuals are a disgrace to the idea of what makes a human being.

And, yes, I have heard many religious and traditional people yell this aloud before. This is probably the most flawed argument I have seen out of the three I have to dissect.

Flaw #1: this is faulty because any -sexuals are still humans and cannot further disgrace what we have already disgraced of ourselves as a society.

Flaw #2: trying to answer a question with a philosophical controversy. It doesn’t work. There is not much anyone can say that can convince me (a very avid philosophy student and sociopolitical activist) that a different mental balance can “disgrace” an already multicultural and diverse population.

Flaw #3: the word “disgrace”. That only disgrace that would exist is the fact that this sentence was just uttered.

Now, I’m not bashing anyone’s beliefs. I’m just pointing out my research and understanding of a topic that shouldn’t be as controversial as trying to figure if a zebra is black-on-white or white-on-black. It’s like skin color, you can’t change how you were born.

And that, my people, is a NERD’s perspective on another social misconception and political debate.

Leave a comment